Posted on: December 9, 2016

LiveWell chooses Culture of Health Action Award winners


LiveWell Lawrence awarded five Culture of Health Action Awards Nov. 18 at its anniversary celebration. The awardees were selected by work groups because of their significant contributions to advancing the goals of the coalition.

The 2016 winners are:

Sunflower Foundation — Healthy Built Environment

  • The Sunflower Foundation has invested in three segments of the Lawrence Loop, with one nearing completion in the next few months.

Cornelius Bell — Healthy Food for All

  • Cornelius is the site coordinator for Communities in Schools of Mid-America at Liberty Memorial Central Middle School. He ensures students with little to no access to foods on the weekend go home with non-perishable meals and food for the weekend.

Denise Johnson — Healthy Kids

  • Denise has been instrumental in working to present and recommend the implementation of the Alliance for a Healthier Generation framework to Lawrence Public Schools.

Douglas County District Court — WorkWell Lawrence

  • The organization has been a leader in implementing worksite wellness initiatives for the past several years.

Eudora City Commission — Tobacco-Free Living

  • Eudora was the first city in Douglas County to extend the state indoor smoking ban in public-access buildings to include e-cigarettes. Additionally, it also was the first to forbid the use of e-cigarettes along with traditional tobacco products in city recreational facilities and parks.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Home


Coalition sets 2016-17 Policy Platform

Posted on: December 16, 2016